Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands comprise two large islands and 778 smaller islands in the South Atlantic, covering an area just over half the size of Wales. They are economically self–sufficient and one of the most dynamic of Britain’s Overseas Territories.

Britain made the first recorded landing on the Islands in 1690 and the first British settlement was established in 1766. Since 1833 British administration has been uninterrupted, except for the Argentine invasion of 1982.